post

Film fit for a loop

In response to the Daily Post suggestion– What film have you seen more than any other? –I’d like to talk about a couple of films I’d happily watch on a continuous loop.

First–the answer to the question “What film have you seen more than any other?” must be Yankee Doodle Dandy with James Cagney  singing and dancing as George M. Cohan. When I was a kid, a local television station ran a show called, as I recall, The Million Dollar Movie. Movies ran once a day and twice on Sunday for an entire week. I remember watching Yankee Doodle Dandy every day and twice on Sunday at least one time in my childhood. And I’ve watched the movie many times since. I’ve probably seen this movie twenty times and I don’t think any other movie on my list can compete with that number.

Other films I’ve seen a lot include:

When Harry Met Sally,” which I try to watch every New Years Eve (admit it–this should be the official New Years holiday movie, don’t you think?)

“Pride and Prejudice” the Keira Knightly version, which is the best version. I won’t defend my choice. Live with it.

“A Christmas Carol” the George C. Scott made for TV version.

“The Sound of Music” The greatest movie musical of all time.

“Blast from the Past” If I were ranking romantic comedies–this one might come in second to “Pride and Prejudice” even above “When Harry Met Sally.”

“My Cousin Vinny” This one is just plain funny and entertaining. I love this movie. I’ve seen many times because I’ve shown it to law students in Uruguay who learning the basics of American law.

“Legally Blonde” Like “My Cousin Vinny” I’ve used this movie to illustrate the American legal system. I’ve shown this movie to Girl Scouts as part of a weekend law event.

Which of these movies would I be willing to watch on a continuous loop? Honestly any movie–no matter how great is going to get old pretty quickly when viewed continuously, but I thin I could go a good long while watching only the movies on this list one after another. There’s a bit of everything here, including some great music (Pride and Prejudice includes one of my favorite movie soundtracks).

What movie have you seen the most? What movie would you stick in your DVD player today if you had two hours?

Add your thoughts

