post

Terri DuLong: Spinning Forward

Please welcome author, Terri DuLong visiting today to talk about her new book, Spinning Forward. TerriDuLong_sm

Tell me about your book.

A New Englander born and bred, the last place Sydney Webster expects to find herself starting over is on an island off the west coast of Florida.  Yet here she is in Cedar Key, trying to pull herself together after her husband’s untimely death and the even more untimely revelation of his gambling addiction.  Syd takes shelter at a college pal’s bed and breakfast, leading her to discover her true identity and feminine soul.  Her passion for spinning and knitting draws attention due to the unique composition of her wool and a door is opened.  She finds herself in the embrace of a community rich with love, laughter, friendship . . . and secrets.  A tale of new beginnings, old friends and lives forever bound.

What pulled you into the story and made you think ‘I have to write this’?

spinningforward2The actual people of Cedar Key, the small town where I now reside, made me feel I wanted to write about the closeness and caring of a small community.  As far as my main character, not all women have the final say-so when it comes to decisions or financial matters in their marriage and although it may seem fine and easy at the time, my story deals with the fact that women owe it to themselves to be aware of these issues.  For Sydney, her uninvolved attitude came back to bite her.

What is your favorite thing about writing?  What is your least favorite thing?

I’d have to say my favorite thing about writing is all the feedback I get from my readers.  Their comments on my characters, plot, how my story affected them, etc.  Least favorite?  Call me Pollyanna, but I really don’t have one.  I love writing and the feeling of accomplishment when I finish a story.

Please name the five movies and the five books you want with you if stranded on a desert island.

5 books would be:  A Woman of Substance, To Kill a Mockingbird, The House at Riverton, The Shellseekers and The Thornbirds

5 movies would be:  Casablanca, Pretty Woman, Saving Private Ryan, Ghost and Steel Magnolias

What is next for you?

My Christmas novella in the anthology with Fern Michaels headlining will be released November 2010–the same time that my second book in the Cedar Key series will be out.

To learn more about Terri’s book, visit: http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/finditem.cfm?itemid=14811

Add your thoughts

