post

Sort of Haiku: City Rain

I’m starting a new feature on this blog. My plan is to write a quasi-haiku each week. Real haiku takes years of study. It’s an art. All I”m doing here is playing with words for fun and as a writing exercise. I invite you to play along.

I’ll try to write a haiku to post here each Sunday with a photo. You can respond with your own haiku, or send me an e-mail at:

tbodwell at tbodwell dot com with your poem. If I like it, I’ll feature it here.

I’m defining haiku here in the loosest terms–17 syllables in three lines. You can distribute those syllables over the three lines in any way you like. So, here is the first photo and poem, inspired by the rain in Columbus, Ohio this past week.

drops-on-window

Spray whooshing like a spring creek.

Water pebbling my window.

City rain.

Comments

  1. Prison window. Very evocative.

  2. Out my prison window
    Life goes on without me
    Those tears aren’t for me

Trackbacks

  1. […] Sort of Haiku: City Rain October 2009 2 comments 3 […]

Add your thoughts

