post

Donut review

In the past I’ve reviewed some movies here and I actually have one I just saw that I could talk about–“Inglorious Bastards”. Bottom line–definitely worth seeing. But I’m not going to talk about that today.

I have donuts on my mind. I find myself living temporarily in the land where Krispy Kreme, Dunkin’ Donuts and Tim Hortons all meet up. These are the three giant donut chains of North America. I think Winchells may still exist in Southern California and there may be a few other regional donut emporiums–but the big three are Krispy Kreme, Dunkin Donuts and Tim Hortons. Trust me–I know my donuts. I appreciate all three of these national chains and I love visiting the cities where they exist because it is a rare treat for me. In Columbus all I need to do is walk across the street to get my Timmys. A block away sits a United Dairy Farmers that carries fresh Krispy Kremes daily. I haven’t found a DD within walking distance, but I know they exist nearby. I am, quite literally in hog heaven.

With so many delectable donuts within easy reach, you’d think I’d be satisfied. But no–I had to try the Buckeye Donuts a few blocks down the street.  The verdict? Delicious. I picked up a blueberry cake donut this afternoon, just to try the place out. This is one of my favorite donuts and I’ve always thought DD does it best. The title definitely goes to Buckeye. This donut was perfection. The blueberry flavor popped–fresh and sweet. You can see they use real blueberries in the batter. The donut was fried to perfection with a slight snap to the cripsy outer layer and soft moist cake inside. This is exactly what a donut should be–not too sweet, not greasy.

Buckeye Donuts–you have my seal of approval. This is the next best thing to an endorsement from Homer Simpson himself. Ahhhh, donuts.

What’s your guilty pleasure? Come on–you can say. I mean, unless its illegal it can’t be guiltier than my obsession with fried dough.

Add your thoughts

