post

Rude Awakening

We woke up this morning around 5 a.m. to the obnoxious sound of the fire alarm. We pulled on shoes, grabbed keys, cell phone and jacket (at least I grabbed a jacket) and trooped down the stairs with maybe 100 other residents. I don’t know if some people didn’t bother to evacuate, or if the building is not yet full, but it didn’t seem like enough people for the size of this building.

My husband and I were the only folks sporting gray hair in the bunch as this building is filled mostly with students from OSU.

It turned out to be a false alarm. I hope this isn’t an oft repeated event. Three fire trucks responded, determined there was no fire and let us back in the building after about ten minutes. Everyone gathered in the lobby waiting for the two elevators to take us back up. There was one official-looking guy who seemed to be in charge. I asked if he could let us back up the emergency stairs as there is no access to the stairs from the lobby of this building. He did unlock the stairs, but only about six of us chose to walk up. My husband took the elevator and he said about half the folks on it seemed to get off on the second floor.

I hate elevators and crowds. I get really claustrophobic in a packed elevator, so I was happy to walk up several flights to my floor. Interestingly no one who chose to walk up got off on the second floor. One guy went to three, a couple more to four. Only two of us walked up to five, which is the top floor of this building. My husband arrived from the elevator just as I was unlocking the door.

By the time we got home it was about 5:30 a.m. A more dedicated writer would have decided to stay up and get a couple of extra hours at the keyboard. Instead I went to bed and awoke later than I’d planned.

Here’s to a peaceful, full night of sleep tonight!

Add your thoughts

