post

Summer in the city

It’s been quite the summer. New York City. Hustle. Bustle.

Back in Missoula, summers are especially quiet. The students of the University of Montana are mostly gone and the city’s population is reduced by about 10,000. The University area, where I live is especially peaceful with foot and car traffic greatly reduced. The big maple trees, heavy with green leaves provide shade and keep the area cool on all but the hottest days.

I love to walk along the river on these days–watching the birds flying over the rushing water.

But I’m in Manhattan, far from the Clark Fork. My days are spent mostly sitting with my laptop in our apartment and writing. Not a bad way to spend the day. Just like home, my windows here look out on trees.

From NYC 09

Anyone besides me find gazing at trees boosts creativity?

Add your thoughts

