post

RWA National Highlights

Just back from Washington, D.C. and the RWA National Conference. I’ll post some pics later in the week as I get my act together here. Today I want to get back to writing as well as catching up on all the stuff that slid off my radar this past week.

Here are a couple of highlights as I saw them. Janet Evanovich’s inspiring opening address. Well, it wasn’t exactly an address. She answered questions off the cuff in a frank and funny manner. She reminded us of her humanity and made us feel we could all have writing careers too. I honestly don’t remember what she said, but I did leave the room feeling positive and energized. So–thumbs up.

That was Thursday morning. Before arriving at the opening address, I had already spent two and half days with my good friend Sally MacKenzie, (including my first ever swim meet and a trip to the Women in Service to America Memorial), attended the “Readers for Life”signing and the RWA Online chapter party. The literacy signing is always a zoo, but kind of fun because all your fave authors are arrayed in alphabetical order. The RWAOL party was a blast (seeing faces of all those online friends is always cool).

Thursday night it was a Lebanese dinner with a pack of friends. Jackie Ivie bought the wine (yay, Jackie). Friday, I visited the American Red Cross. My good friend from Montana is now working in the Disaster Operations Center there and I got a tour. Very cool.

Then back to the conference and more learning about stuff like foreign rights and contract terms and what Susan Elizabeth Phillips thinks. One of the very cool things about RWA is that some of my heroes are members. SEP is probably my favorite author and there she is ready to candidly answer my questions about the biz. How cool is that?

Did I mention free books? Tons of them. I’m saving most of mine to give away for Unleash Your Story, which reminds me of the other highlight–raising $200 for Unleash Your Story and sharing the vision with tons of people who (we hope) will join us at the end of August.

Okay, that’s it for now. I will post some pics and give a few more details in the next couple of days. Now, it is off to get some lunch and get some writing done.

Add your thoughts

