post

Book buying habits of authors

I just returned from Garden of Read’n with my copy of Candace Calvert’s new book Critical Care.

critical_care

Now, I was thrilled to buy the book, don’t get me wrong. Still I had a moment of hesitation because it was the last copy on the shelf.

When I’m looking for a friend’s book I hate buying the last copy. My mind always goes through this debate–I am going to buy the book. I came here looking for the book. I can go to another store or order this book online. If I leave it here some shopper may discover my friend’s book. If I buy it now–am I taking away my friend’s opportunity to be discovered by a new reader?

I usually end this debate by buying the book. I think the best way to help my author friends is to buy their books and tell other people about their books. But I still end up with this debate every time. Anyone else have this experience?

Comments

  1. Well, I’m a huge fan of Grey’s Anatomy and an even huger (is that a word?) fan of Candace Calvert’s writing–so I’m pretty sure I’m going to love this book. 🙂

  2. Teresa–I suffer from that same malady. It’s an offshoot from the compulsion to turn friends’ books cover out or move them to eye-level.

    And it comes from having an empathetic author’s heart.

    I thank you for considering your options . . . and for buying Critical Care. From a bookstore named Garden of Read’n–gotta love it!

    Bless you for you kindness, and I hope you like meeting Dr. “McSnarly.”

    Candace Calvert

Add your thoughts

