post

Windchill Factor

I don’t think I’ve ever heard a weather reporter say, “Today’s temperature is expected to hit 90 degrees, but with the windchill factor it will feel like a pleasant 85.”

No. When the forecast mentions windchill factor, you know it’s going to be a cold, blustery day. You can be pretty sure you’re going to want to wear those flannel lined jeans if you go outside. Most likely you don’t want to go outside. Your dog, however, may give you no choice in the matter.

Have I mentioned my dog, Riley?

riley-reclining Gorgeous right?

My daughter got him from the Humane Society. He’s not the sharpest tool in the shed, but he is very loving and sweet. Wouldn’t hurt a flea. At least not on purpose. He might accidentally stomp on it, because he isn’t exactly graceful. So we’ve been operating under the assumption that he is a mutt–some kind of Newf/Retriever cross with some possible Setter thrown in. Recently someone suggested he is a Flat-Coated Retriever. He does look like the pictures of the pure bred Flat Coats. Not surprisingly, our research shows that Flat-Coated Retrievers have Newf ancestors. See for example, this article on Wikipedia.

So, I’m trying to get back on track with my soldier novel. I’m going to be updating my Zokutou Word Meter in the sidebar there. The goal is to hit 90,000 words by April 1. This will mean writing 1500 words per day, 7 days a week. I can do it. I think. Watch the sidebar and check my progress.

Add your thoughts

