post

Slumdog Millionaire

Romance?

I haven’t taken the time to go through the Natural History of the Romance Novel test for whether Slumdog Millionaire is a true romance, but my instinct says it is.

Don’t get me wrong–this story is gritty. I admit to closing my eyes through more than one scene. This is the hero’s story and we don’t see a whole lot of the heroine. We don’t get the heroine fighting for herself and for love in the way we expect in a modern romance. But the story is very satisfying and the obstacles this couple faces takes conflict to a whole new level.

I highly recommend this movie.

Comments

  1. Or wait and rent it. I expect it will be out on video soon.

  2. Angie Fox says:

    Interesting! I admit, I haven’t heard much about Slumdog Millionaire, but even so, I never pictured it as a romance. That’s neat. Of course, with the kiddos, we don’t get out to movies like we used to, but we may have to make an exception for this one.

Add your thoughts

